Product: Pattern Vintage Dress in 70s Style
Pattern Vintage Dress in 70s Style
In European Sizes 36 - 46.

Clothing in Islam – From headscarves to burqas

Inspiration Runway: Hidschab und Schaila bei Max Mara, Helo Rocher und Versace.
Inspiration Runway: Hidschab and Schaila bei Max Mara, Helo Rocher and Versace.

WHAT DO MUSLIM WOMEN WEAR?

Insight into different types of clothing of Islamic countries

In the Arab world, especially in public, women appear in the most different layers of fabric – which, from a western point of view, seems confusing at first glance. Depending on country and region, big city or province, the rules are often interpreted differently – sometimes more liberal, sometimes less so. In liberal Muslim countries, and in their metropolises in particular, it often is adequate to wear a loosely bound headscarf, which is chosen freely in color and pattern to complement the fashionable clothing. At the same time it is expected from the women to dress not too physically accentuated and to show skin as little as possible. In many countries, such as the Arabian Peninsula, a variety of wrapped garments appear next to each other and characterize the street scene. The strictest regulations apply in Afghanistan and parts of Pakistan: Here, the female population has to fully cover up. Women wear face veils, a so called burka, to not even to let their eyes show. Islamic scholar are arguing persistently about, whether the Koran actually requires the veiling or merely demands “disciplined” clothes so women are “recognized as believers and not being harassed”. In the following we introduce some traditional garments worn in the Arab world.

This is an article from Damen-Rundschau 1-2.2017. In this issue you will find interesting articles about capes, pochos and throws, as well as portraits of the designer Khulood Thani and Josephine Gaede by Cape Girls.

DUPATTA

Kopftuch Dupatta(Photo Credit: Illustrationen (11): SUNY ROTH )

Common in South Asia, the Dupatta is a long scarf that is draped loosely around face and shoulders. The wearer combines the Dupatta with matching long dresses or skirts.

SCHAILA

Kopftuch Schaila

The Schaila is a rectangular, long veil, comes in different colors, and is worn  so the whole face can be seen. The cloth is loosely wrapped around the head and held together by taking one end, crossing at center front and loosely place it over the second shoulder. This type of veiling is often seen in black in the Gulf States.

HIDSCHAB

Kopftuch Hidschab

The headscarf Hijab also belongs to the category of “loose” fitting Muslim headgear, however, in comparison to the Schaila it is tightly entwined under the chin. This way, hair, ears, neck and neckline are covered. The Hijab is the most widespread form of veiling amongst Muslim women and in the entire Islamic world, such as Tunisia and Saudi Arabia. Hijab allows fashionable freedom, because they are  offered and available in numerous colors and designs. A Hijab can also be sewn in a way, that allows it to be draped so it becomes a Niqab – then only the eyes are left uncoverd.

AL-AMIRA

Kopftuch AlAmira

Unlike the Hijab. the Al-Amira is a two-piece garment. A cloth is worn tightly fitting around the head, a larger one loosely pulled over, the entire face remains free. This type of veiling resembles a short cape including the headgear. No room for creativity: in this design no looping or draping happens.  The Al-Amira is common in Tunisia, Egypt, Turkey and in Iraq. Fashionable variations in design possible, for it may be worn in different colors.

CHIMAR

Kopftuch Chimar

This coat-like veil can reach to the waist so the entire upper body is covered except for the face. The Chimar is combined with the Nigab if, in addition, the face should be hidden. The Chimar also is worn in various colors and patterns. This garment design is longer than an Al-Amira; since this coat-like veil loosely falls down from the top of the head to the ground, the shoulder part is hardly to imagine. Here also the woman can choose from different colors.

TSCHADOR

Kopftuch Tschador

The Chador was created as a result of the Islamic revolution in Iran, when the veiling was ordered to the women. The Chador is especially widespread in Iran as well as in the entire Islamic world, for example in Pakistan or Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula with Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Oman, Kuwait, Qatar, the United States United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Iraq and Bahrain. This form of the full body veil consists of a mostly black cloak-like garment, that reaches to the ground and covers the entire body including the woman’s head. A silhouette can hardly be recognized here either; the face usually remains free. In the Chador a fabric panel is incorporated, which gives support and is used to safely hide the hairline. Translated, Chador means “Tent”. It is held together on the inside at center front by hand. Sometimes a second smaller veil is worn underneath.

NIQAB

Kopftuch Nihab

The black Niqab goes back to an ancient tradition: It is borrowed from the Bedouin culture on the Arab Peninsula, where it still is worn today. In Saudi Arabia and Yemen for example, the vast majority of women wear this face veil, but also is common in Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Iraq, Pakistan and North African countries. countries. Already in pre-Islamic times women and men alike have worn clothes to protect from wind, sand and sunlight. These have been made from cotton grown in the Nishapur region and the gave the garment its name, today it is also can be made of silk or synthetic fiber. Often the face veil Niqab is confused with the Burka. In contrast to the Burka, the Niqab, however, allows a slit to leave the eyes free. In the more luxuriant variation jewelry is applied on the headband above the eyes. To eat or drink, the wearer lifts the veil and enjoys the desired. The Niqab is often combined with a floor-length black robe, mostly to a Chador or an Abaya, which covers arms and legs.

BUSHIYA

Kopftuch Bushiya

This face veil is semi-transparent and worn like a Chador or Abaya. Common on the Arabic Peninsula.

BURKA

Kopftuch Burka

This most extreme veiling of the woman is common in Afghanistan and parts of Pakistan: The most discussed, mostly blue full body veil covers the woman completely from head to toe. Not even the eyes can be seen anymore. A band-like reinforcement around the top of the head prevents the fine mesh or net, applied at  eye-level, from slipping. The wearer experiences a constricted viewing angle.

ABAYA

Kopftuch Abaya

Optically the Abaya appears like a mixture of floor-length dress and coat. In Saudi Arabia, wearing this waistless dress in public is considered of being worn as the minimum of wrapping; in the Emirates also the basic color black is often chosen. The Abaya reaches from neck to toes. Designers of Muslim fashion offer the Abaya by now in numerous variants: in different colors, in butterfly cuts,  from time to time even discreetly waisted or with prints.

BURKINI

Kopftuch Bademode Burkini

A garment of the modern age. The Burkini – a combination of the words burka and bikini – should enable women to bathe even as strict Muslim believers This two-piece swimsuit covers the entire body and is offered in many different designs. Face, hands and feet of the Burkini wearer mostly remain uncovered.

Product: Pattern Vintage Dress in 70s Style
Pattern Vintage Dress in 70s Style
In European Sizes 36 - 46.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Produkt: Schnittmuster Trachtenmotive und Applikationen
Schnittmuster Trachtenmotive und Applikationen
Schnittmuster Trachtenmotive und Applikationen

Kleidung im Islam – Vom Kopftuch bis zur Burka

Inspiration Runway: Hidschab und Schaila bei Max Mara, Helo Rocher und Versace.
Inspiration Runway: Hidschab und Schaila bei Max Mara, Helo Rocher und Versace. (Bild: © CATWALKPIX.COM)

Was tragen muslimische Frauen?

Einblick in unterschiedliche Bekleidungen islamischer Länder

In der arabischen Welt zeigen sich Frauen insbesondere in der Öffentlichkeit in den unterschiedlichsten Verhüllungen – was aus westlicher Sicht auf den ersten Blick verwirrend ist. Je nach Land und Region, nach Großstadt oder Provinz, werden die Vorschriften oft unterschiedlich ausgelegt – mal mehr und mal weniger liberal. So reicht in liberalen muslimischen Ländern und hier insbesondere in den Metropolen oftmals ein locker gebundenes Kopftuch aus, das frei in Farbe und Muster zur modischen Bekleidung gewählt wird. Gleichzeitig erwartet man auch hier von den Trägerinnen, dass sie nicht allzu körperbetont auftreten und möglichst wenig Haut zeigen. In vielen Ländern, etwa der Arabischen Halbinsel, prägen verschiedene Verhüllungen nebeneinander das Straßenbild. Die strengsten Vorschriften gelten in Afghanistan und in Teilen Pakistans: Hier muss sich der weibliche Teil der Bevölkerung hinter einer Vollverschleierung, einer Burka verstecken, die nicht einmal mehr ihre Augen sehen lässt. Islamwissenschaftler streiten beharrlich darüber, ob der Koran die Verschleierung tatsächlich vorschreibt oder lediglich „züchtige“ Kleidung verlangt, durch die Frauen „als Gläubige erkannt und nicht belästigt“ werden. Im Folgenden stellen wir einige traditionelle Kleidungsstücke vor, wie sie in der arabischen Welt getragen werden.

PDF-Download: Rundschau für Internationale Damenmode 1-2/2017
17,80 €
AGB

Dies ist ein Beitrag aus der Damen-Rundschau 1-2.2017. In dieser Ausgabe finden Sie interessante Beiträge zu den Thema Capes, Pochos und Überwürfe, sowie Porträts der Designerin Khulood Thani und Josephine Gaede von Cape Mädchen.

DUPATTA

Kopftuch Dupatta(Bild: Illustrationen (11): SUNY ROTH )

In Südasien verbreitet ist die Dupatta. Sie ist ein langer Schal, der locker um Gesicht und Schultern drapiert wird. Dazu kombiniert seine Trägerin passende lange Kleider oder Röcke.

SCHAILA

Kopftuch SchailaDie Schaila ist ein rechteckiger, langer Schleier in unterschiedlichen Farben, bei dem das ganze Gesicht sichtbar bleibt. Das Tuch wird locker um den Kopf gelegt und auf der Vorderseite zusammengehalten, indem ein Ende leicht über die zweite Schulter gelegt wird. Diese Art der Verschleierung sieht man als schwarze Version häufig in den Golfstaaten.

HIDSCHAB

Kopftuch Hidschab

Das Kopftuch Hidschab gehört ebenfalls zu den „lockeren“ unter den muslimischen Kopfbedeckungen, wird jedoch im Gegensatz zur Schaila unter dem Kinn fest verschlungen. So werden Haare, Ohren, Hals und Ausschnitt bedeckt. Der Hidschab ist die am weitesten verbreitete Form der Verhüllung unter muslimischen Frauen und in der gesamten islamischen Welt gebräuchlich, so etwa in Tunesien und Saudi-Arabien. Hidschabs lassen Muslima modische Freiheiten, weil sie in zahlreichen Farben und Designs angeboten werden. Ein Hidschab kann auch so genäht sein, dass er zum Niqab drapiert werden kann – so dass dann nur noch die Augen unbedeckt bleiben.

AL-AMIRA

Kopftuch AlAmira

Anders als der Hidschab ist der Al-Amira ein zweiteiliges Kleidungsstück. Ein Tuch wird enganliegend um den Kopf getragen, ein größeres locker darüber gezogen, darunter bleibt das gesamte Gesicht frei. Diese Verhüllung ähnelt einem kurzen Cape samt Kopfbedeckung. Kreativität ausgeschlossen: Hier wird nichts geschlungen oder drapiert. Der Al-Amira ist in Tunesien, Ägypten, Türkei und im Irak verbreitet. Im Design macht er modische Variationen möglich, weil er in unterschiedlichen Farben getragen werden darf.

CHIMAR

Kopftuch Chimar

Bis zur Taille kann dieser mantelartiger Schleier reichen – so bleibt der gesamte Oberkörper bis auf das Gesicht verhüllt. Kombiniert wird der Chimar mit einer Niqab dann, wenn darüber hinaus das Gesicht verborgen werden soll. Auch der Chimar wird in den verschiedensten Farben und Mustern getragen. Diese Bedeckung ist länger als ein Al-Amira; da dieser mantelartige Schleier vom Oberkopf aus locker bis zum Boden fällt, ist die Schulterpartie kaum noch zu erahnen. Auch hier kann sich die Frau zwischen unterschiedlichen Farben entscheiden.

TSCHADOR

Kopftuch Tschador

Der Tschador entstand in Folge der islamischen Revolution im Iran, als Frauen die Verschleierung vorgeschrieben wurde. Er ist besonders hier weit verbreitet wie auch in der gesamten islamischen Welt, etwa in Pakistan oder Ägypten und der Arabischen Halbinsel mit Saudi-Arabien, Jemen, Oman, Kuwait, Katar, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, Jordanien, Irak und Bahrain. Diese Form des Ganzkörperschleiers besteht aus einem meist schwarzen mantelartigen Gewand, das bis zum Boden reicht und den ganzen Körper der Frau samt Kopf verhüllt. Eine Silhouette ist auch hier kaum zu erkennen; das Gesicht bleibt meist frei. Im Tschador wird eine Stoffbahn eingearbeitet, die Halt gibt und dazu dient, den Haaransatz sicher zu verbergen. Übersetzt bedeutet Tschador „Zelt“. Zusammengehalten wird es vorne meist von innen durch die Hände der Frau. Manchmal wird darunter noch ein zweiter kleinerer Schleier getragen.

NIQAB

Kopftuch Nihab

Die schwarze Niqab geht auf eine uralte Tradition zurück: Er ist der Beduinenkultur auf der Arabischen Halbinsel entlehnt, wo er auch heute getragen wird. In Saudi-Arabien und im Jemen beispielsweise legt die große Mehrheit der Frauen diesen Gesichtsschleier an, aber auch in Ägypten, Syrien, Jordanien, dem Irak, Pakistan sowie in nordafrikanischen Ländern. Bereits in vorislamischer Zeit haben sich Frauen wie Männer mit Tüchern gegen Wind, Sand und Sonneneinstrahlung geschützt. Diese wurden aus nischpurischer Baumwolle gefertigt und gaben dem Kleidungsstück seinen Namen, die heute außerdem aus Seide oder Kunstfaser gefertigt werden. Oftmals wird der Gesichtsschleier Niqab mit der Burka verwechselt. Im Unterschied zur Burka lässt die Niqab jedoch einen Schlitz für die Augen frei. In der üppigen Variante ist Schmuck auf dem Stirnband über den Augen angebracht. Will seine Trägerin essen oder trinken, hebt sie den Schleier an und führt sich unter ihm das Gewünschte zu. Kombiniert wird die Niqab häufig mit einem bodenlangen schwarzen Gewand, meist einem Tschador oder eine Abaya, die Arme und Beine bedecken.

BUSHIYA

Kopftuch Bushiya

Dieser Gesichtsschleier ist halb durchsichtig und wird ebenso mit Tschador oder Abaya getragen. Verbreitet ist er auf der Arabischen Halbinsel.

BURKA

Kopftuch Burka

Diese extremste Verhüllung der Frau ist in Afghanistan und in Teilen von Pakistan verbreitet: Der meistdiskutierte, meist blaue Ganzkörperschleier verhüllt die Frau vom Kopf bis zu den Zehenspitzen komplett. Von seiner Trägerin sind nicht einmal mehr die Augen zu sehen. Eine bandartige Verstärkung rund um den Oberkopf verhindert, dass der Stoff und das auf Augenhöhe eingearbeitete feinmaschige Gitter oder Netz verrutscht. Denn nur wird der Trägerin einen eingeengten Blickwinkel nach außen ermöglicht.

ABAYA

Kopftuch Abaya

Optisch kommt die Abaya wie eine Mixtur aus bodenlangem Kleid und Mantel daher. In Saudi-Arabien gilt das Tragen dieses taillenlosen Kleides in der Öffentlichkeit als Minimum der Verhüllung; auch in den Emiraten wird oft als Grundfarbe Schwarz gewählt. Die Abaya reicht vomHals bis zu den Fußspitzen. Designerinnen muslimischer Mode bieten die Abaya inzwischen in zahlreichen Varianten an: in unterschiedlichen Farben, in Schmetterlingsschnitten, manchmal sogar dezent tailliert oder mit Prints.

BURKINI

Kopftuch Bademode Burkini

Ein Kleidungsstück der Moderne. Der Burkini – zusammengesetzt aus den Worten Burka und Bikini – soll es Frauen ermöglichen, auch als streng gläubige Muslima zu baden. Gemeint ist ein zweiteiliger Schwimmanzug, der den ganzen Körper bedeckt und in vielerlei Designs angeboten wird. Gesicht, Hände und Füße der Burkini-Trägerinnen bleiben meist unbedeckt.

Produkt: Schnittmuster Trachtenmotive und Applikationen
Schnittmuster Trachtenmotive und Applikationen
Schnittmuster Trachtenmotive und Applikationen

Kommentare zu diesem Artikel

  1. Vielen Dank für die ausführlichen, übersichtlichen, anschaulich und sehr gut verfassten Erklärungen.

    Auf diesen Kommentar antworten
    1. Es freut uns, dass Ihnen der Artikel gefällt!

      Auf diesen Kommentar antworten

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren